Ten important heritage sites in Stoke-on-Trent Countdown – number 9 Williamson’s Shop Longton

Williamson’s Photographer’s and Jewellers on the corner of Gold Street with its fabulous Art Deco arcade entrance and its wondrous lozenge-shaped glass cabinets was founded in 1914 by William Williamson and his wife Kate, pioneers of modern photography and talented photographers. The shop was expanded in 1931 when new studios were added and the jewellery side improved its variety and quality. Williamson was chosen to take the official portrait of the newly elected Lord Mayor when Stoke-on-Trent became a City in 1925, and the business has continued doing this annually to this day. The current owner, Cynthia, William’s granddaughter. Cynthia is the widow of the artist and playwright Arthur Berry. The best example of Art Deco retail in the district.Image

4 comments on “Ten important heritage sites in Stoke-on-Trent Countdown – number 9 Williamson’s Shop Longton

  1. Paul Beardmore says:

    Freddie, wife went in today 13/8/14 virtually empty it’s closing down such a sad loss to see it go, used it every year for god knows how long

  2. Susan Ross says:

    I was visiting from New Zealand in 2008 and just had to visit the place where so many of my ancestors photos were taken. I was confused that on the back of some photos were the address 52 Stafford St and others had 1 Gold St. I met Margaret and told her that in some photos there was a cane chair for the children to sit on so she took me out to another room and behind a table was a small cane chair identical to one I had seen in photos taken in 1936. I had such a lovely time there. I am sad to hear the shop is now closed.

  3. gazumped says:

    Hi. Late to the party I know, but I bought my first camera* (and a couple of later ones) here, and my childhood family photos were all taken here. Sad not to be able to visit again. Anyone know what became of their photo negatives? *Wish I could say I’m now a world-famous photographer, but that’s not the case. I am still taking pictures though!

Leave a comment